Here’s What Will Happen if You Keep Saying “Yes” to Things You Don’t Want to Do

Anthony Moore
7 min readJul 22, 2021

“Every time you say yes to something you don’t want to do, this will happen: you will resent people, you will do a bad job, you will have less energy for the things you were doing a good job on, you will make less money, and yet another small percentage of your life wi be burned up.” -James Altucher

You can lie to yourself, but you can’t lie to your body.

A lot of people woke up today and convinced themselves: “this is fine.” Their life has become full of duties, obligations, debts, and schedules that demand their attention — though 99% of these things are, frankly, not what they should be doing.

Growing up, I was a severe people-pleaser. I felt that if I said no, I would be personally letting you down and making your life worse.

So I said yes. To…pretty much everything. I never had time to myself. I was too busy serving others.

I hated it. Most days, I’d wake up with dread and remorse, and every morning, I’d squash down those feelings and give, give, give.

And I learned that you’re someone who says “yes” a lot, you’ll attract a fair number of liars, cheaters, and manipulators looking to use you for their gain.

--

--

Anthony Moore

Writer for CNBC, Business Insider, Fast Company, Thought Catalog, Yahoo! Finance, and you.